The Mark Ledden Blog

…audio, video, web and general tech ramblings.

My (New) Digital Identity

I’m writing this post because one of the new students doing the same course I did at uni had left a comment on my first ever blog post. This forced me to read back on the then-thoughts, which were only a few months old but seem so out of date when compared with now.

On my first ever post here, after introducing myself I talked about my digital identity and how I used the web. The impression I probably gave of myself on the web and particularly within social media was a rather introverted one: I had a Twitter account but didn’t use it, I had only just got started with Facebook and only used MySpace for band stuff. In the past few months things have changed quite dramatically. This is no doubt due to the Social Media module I took at university.

After being showed the ins and outs of Twitter I somehow managed to leap ahead of the class, collecting followers and engaging with the platform. After a couple of months of getting into Twitter I put together this piece: Five Cool Twitter Experiences, to highlight some of my progress. It’s exciting getting Re-Tweets, being added to Twitter lists and getting #FF’s, sometimes from people I’d consider quite important and influential. A recent #FF from @GreatManchester was nice because I wasn’t even aware I was on their radar.

The other thing I’ve really gotten into is blogging. (If you’re reading this then you may have already realised that!) During the Social Media module we were given topics to blog about. This was great because at that point my mind was pretty blank. Now I jot down anything that comes into my head, be it a title or a sentence or two. Much of this may not make it any further but it’s important to have a good bank of ideas. I’ve probably got at least 10 half-written posts at the moment. Blog content doesn’t even have to contain any words. It was entertaining seeing one of my half-baked doodles being passed around Twitter, one of those users being ‘highly influential’ (see the pingback from Topsy.com on that post).

Another point to make is to make sure everything you create or publish is titled and tagged correctly. I’ve noticed the review posts I’ve done get relatively small but sustained traffic from search engine queries on the related topics. This has also led to someone asking me to review their app. Which is amazing that just through a blog post someone now values my opinion enough to ask for my help.

If there’s any advice I can offer then it’s just to keep at it. At first there’s nobody listening, which is the case for everyone but perseverance can pay off and like me you might be surprised with what happens.

5 responses to “My (New) Digital Identity

  1. Helen November 15, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    Hi Mark, this is a great post – Your blog and tweets are becoming essential resources for current (and future) students, as well as on a more general basis for people who are working in social media/the AV industry. Most importantly (from my perspective) you are inspiring people who may not have thought social media was for them, to think differently and use the many tools/platforms that are available as part of their professional practice. Quality work!

    • Marianne November 15, 2010 at 4:42 pm

      It is very interesting how the Social Media module challenged your initial conceptions about Social Media and how you are now inspiring current students to see the possibilities! Helen also plays an important role in this but everyone has to realise the benefits for themselves and customise their use of media to suit their goals, interests and perharps personalities. I still don’t use the internet on my phone much…maybe i should…
      I really enjoy your posts and twits!

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention My (New) Digital Identity « Mark Ledden -- Topsy.com

  3. Alex November 15, 2010 at 11:12 pm

    You certainly took Twitter and ran with it. I try to use it but you lead the way and show what can be achieved. Congratulations on the invitation to review that product, by the way.

    I have to say that Helen’s module was a big influence on me too; Like you, I had a Twitter account but never updated it… Maybe we always had it in us to be Twits. As for blogs, I’m actually really surprised at how effective they are as a means for academic note writing; I was never able to keep an effective log book or diary until Helen had us writing 500 word weekly blogs after each lecture, and I really enjoyed that part of the module. I’ve been blogging about my dissertation in the same way and it’s a very useful exercise (even without the audience you enjoy)…

    Keep going
    Alex

  4. Mark Ledden November 22, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    Thanks for all the positive comments guys! This is exactly the kind of thing that makes me want to put the effort in and keep things moving.

