The Mark Ledden Blog

…audio, video, web and general tech ramblings.

Postaday2011 – One Week In

Yeah I know it’s further than a week into 2011, but as usual I was late to the show. So today marks the first week of my venture into postaday2011.

So what progress have I made?

Well I hate to focus on the numbers here but one thing I have seen is a good return in page views. If I can just demonstrate…

You can see in the graph above the rise in activity, which correlates to my first post for postaday2011. Instead of sitting around waiting for the perfect post I’ve just got down to writing.

Looking at the next graph. The first week of the year (which is the second to last bar) has been the best week for some time and the week after that is about average just two days in to the week.

Now finally. You can see that it’s only 11 days into the month and January is looking to be one of my best months yet, and more likely, the best ever.

Traffic isn’t everything but it’s good to see something for the effort of blogging every day and means I’m happy to carry on. Thanks for reading.

4 responses to “Postaday2011 – One Week In

  1. Masaya Mahanta January 13, 2011 at 7:26 am

    Hey Mark! Greetings from Vegas. Just wanted to share, I’ve experienced the same awesome upturn in views from participating in this challenge. Stay focused and keep sharing your voice with the world.

    Sincerely,
    MaSaYa

    • Mark Ledden January 13, 2011 at 10:36 pm

      Hey Masaya, Great to hear from someone from overseas!
      Yeah, it’s definitely worth putting in the effort for the return I’ve already gotten, in terms of page views.
      I’ll definitely keep it going. Especially with great motivation from people like yourself.
      How have managed blogging every day? Do you sometimes struggle to find the time or content to write about? I’m curios.
      Mark.

  2. Masaya Mahanta January 14, 2011 at 2:00 am

    Well, first I don’t expect perfection… As a Virgo, I’ve learned the pain that comes along with trying to do things EXACTLY right. So the days that I missed because I was exhausted from a new job, I just posted my most expressive Facebook status as a post… It works for me and there is no guilt involved.

    As far as content, I have been lucky since I am on a major life mission right now to save myself from the evil Mr. Heart Disease. November 15, 2010, I started my first-ever attempt at a living a healthier life including changing my diet and exercise habits. As a result, I have not felt a shortage of material to write about since this has proven to be quite the adventure, and I am only a month and a half in.

    What about you?

  3. Mark Ledden January 14, 2011 at 8:51 am

    I used to spend ages trying to perfect my posts before hitting publish. Now I’ve learnt to let go a bit more so things flow more easily. I have noticed my posts are now shorter and snappier, when I do get the time I’ll crank out up to 1000 words or more, but half the time people don’t want to read that much anyway.
    In terms of ideas, I’m always writing things down or sketching things out. Sometimes I’ll just write down the title of a post that I want to write and gradually develop it until it’s ready. I usually have about 20 or more ideas on the go at any one time.
    Sometimes I’ll struggle for time to write every day when I’m at work. I’m trying to use the Android app so I can post on the move but it’s hard to write a lot of text. Maybe I’ll get used to it.
    It’s good that you’ve got that life experience to draw from. I’ll have to take some tips from your blog at living healthier! Keep up the good work and best of luck with the blog and your mission.

