The Mark Ledden Blog

…audio, video, web and general tech ramblings.

Concept: “A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words”

If a picture is worth equals a thousand words then video must be running at around 24,000 to 30,000 words per second.┬áThat’s a much more efficient medium for story telling, I’m sure.

4 responses to “Concept: “A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words”

  1. manzed January 12, 2011 at 11:14 pm

    Great and interesting deduction. That shows how video is astronomically better than photography heheh I think the same but some inferential statistics should be applied in order to obtain the correct equivalent. Anyways it should be over 10,000 lol By the way, I have to tell you I like the focus and POV of your blog!

    • Mark Ledden January 13, 2011 at 10:20 pm

      Hi Manzed! Hope all is well.
      You’re right, someone should investigate into the matter a bit further to find the perfect ‘word-rate’ of video……
      Thanks. It’s always good to hear someone is enjoying my ramblings. I’ll make sure I keep them coming!

  2. Alex January 13, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    So it NTSC more valuable than PAL and film?!

    • Mark Ledden January 13, 2011 at 10:25 pm

      Alex, you had to go and throw a spanner in the works!
      Hmm…I think film should be held at a higher word value. Being analogue, it hasn’t faced any quantisation from digitisation so should be ‘purer’….and that’s coming from a digital freak, but what do I know?? What about HD? Surely that has to be more effective than SD, regardless of frame-rate.

