The Mark Ledden Blog

…audio, video, web and general tech ramblings.

QuickTip: Share Items From Google Reader To Twitter (Or Virtually Anywhere) Automatically

Sometimes there just aren’t enough hours in the day, so anywhere we can make efficiencies in the time we spend on things (no matter how minimal) will always help. This is a quick tip I’m using to share all the great articles I come across with a little less effort.

I usually do most of my browsing on Google Reader on my phone. Sharing an item generally means opening a new window in the browser or switching to another app. This takes up valuable time!

Wouldn’t it be better if you could share it with a single click that didn’t interrupt your reading experience?

I’m sure everyone out there using Google Reader is aware of the sharing button that appears at the end of each article, but how many of you are actually using it? Personally, I don’t have a whole lot of Google friends to share these things with. I’d much rather share them with Twitter of Facebook.

The good thing is that you get an RSS feed of your shared items, you just need to know where to look. Go to your shared items and click on ‘show details’. There you will see your feed URL for your shared items.

So now what do we do with this? Well, the first thing I made sure I did was to get rid of any shared items I already had so they weren’t posted to Twitter. I only wanted new items to be posted.

Now drop the URL into something like Hootsuite, Twitterfeed of Dlvr.it and it’ll post the links for you. When I did this in Hootsuite it didn’t see it as a valid feed but I was able to subscribe to it in my own Google Reader.

This wasn’t a major problem as Dlvr.it gives you much greater control over how often and how many items to post. You can even schedule what times of the day and days of the week to post. It really is the best choice when sharing a feed. It even automatically adds relevant hashtags, if you want.

I’ve only set this up to post to Twitter as I don’t want to spam my Facebook friends but the choice is yours. If you can get your feed working in Hootsuite then the choices of where to post to is vastly increased. I’ve set a window to restrict posting for weekdays between 8AM and 10PM. I’ve also tried the auto hashtag placement to see how that works out (so far it’s not brilliant so I might ditch that). I’ll be keeping a close eye on how this works as I don’t want to become a spam artist. Hopefully it’ll just help automate a process I would’ve carried out anyway.

Now all I need to do when I want to share a link when reading through articles on Google Reader is click the share button and the rest is taken care of for me. No need to switch apps, windows, browsers or pages.

I’d love to know your thoughts on this, leave a comment if you think this is a good idea or if you think it makes me a complete fraudster!

7 responses to “QuickTip: Share Items From Google Reader To Twitter (Or Virtually Anywhere) Automatically

  1. classyrose March 10, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    I’m just starting to use the different social media platforms and found this information very helpful. Thanks. 🙂

    My visit to your blog is part of my RandomBlog2011 challenge. Look to be mentioned in a future post of mine and I will also send out a Tweet #randomblog2011
    Check it out at:
    http://whatsbuggingmetoday.wordpress.com/randomblog2011-challenges/randomblog2011-challenge-2/

    • Mark Ledden March 10, 2011 at 2:45 pm

      Wow that’s really cool! I hadn’t heard of the random blog challenge, think I’ll have to take part now 🙂

      I’m pleased the information has been useful for you, If there’s anything else I can help with or any post ideas you may have then I’m all ears…

      Looking forward to reading your post. I’ll be sure to hit you up on Twitter to let everyone know about it.

      Happy blogging!

  2. Pingback: or not – Blogging Buddies Interviews « Things in life I find annoying

  3. Alex March 17, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    Useful post, I might have to give it a try!

  4. Pingback: Revising My Dlvr.it & Google Reader Combo « The Mark Ledden Blog

