The Mark Ledden Blog

…audio, video, web and general tech ramblings.

“Seesmic Is The Best App For Managing Your Facebook Page On Your Android Phone, But It Still Isn’t Quite There”

I’ve recently found Seesmic for Android to be the best solution for managing my Facebook pages on my phone. Saying that, even though it is the ‘best’ solution, it’s still not perfect.

In this post I went through my journey to find a way of managing my page, from interacting through comments to uploading media. Before finding out about the update to Seesmic for Android I was using a combination of Hootsuite.

The problems I’m having with Seesmic remind me of the previous problems with Hootsuite except this time is with video. With Hootsuite, you can only upload photos with a Twitter account. If you only have a Facebook page selected, it wont work. And with Seesmic, you can happily upload photos to Facebook pages but not videos.

When I tried to upload a video straight from my SD card it wouldn’t work, there was an ‘issue’ with the file. Then I recorded a video from within the app, it was low quality and the length was limited. Then at the final point of uploading it threw back and error saying a Twitter account needed to be selected. Hopeless.

So, Seesmic is the best all-in-one solution, allowing you to interact with your page and upload photos. But If you desperately need to get video on your page from your phone then Pixelpipe is the way to go at the moment. Hopefully either Hootsuite or Seesmic can offer us this functionality or maybe even Facebook can get their act together.

4 responses to ““Seesmic Is The Best App For Managing Your Facebook Page On Your Android Phone, But It Still Isn’t Quite There”

  1. Martin April 4, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    Agreed! Seesmic is totally cross-platform and that’s great. But I am still missing something, especially solid statistics. But the development team seems very determined, so maybe in a year or two, we may have a clear market leader here…

    • Mark Ledden April 4, 2011 at 11:33 pm

      Yeah, Seesmic is brilliant and it’s come such a long way in a short amount of time. Hootsuite also has a great track record for listening to their customers, I just hope there’s enough of a demand for this. Let’s see who gets there first 😉

      Really enjoyed reading your post, my thoughts exactly. Seesmic needs to integrate some stats to be a real player. Which is a shame as it does everything else perfectly. It just needs to impress to tear me away from Hootsuite, I’m looking for an all-in-one solution.

  2. Dan O'Neil April 24, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    I’ve had a play with Seesmic, but it doesn’t seem able to post to more than one account at the same time… e.g. Facebook page and Twitter.

    Hopefully someone will bring out an app that does it all!

    • Mark Ledden May 18, 2011 at 11:32 am

      Hi Dan,

      On Seesmic, If you click on the status update icon (top right on main screen) then click on the top left of the following screen (this should read as whatever your default account is). Now you should get a list with check-boxes of ALL your accounts. So I can see my FB profile, all my FB pages and Twitter accounts; allowing me to post to any combination of each.

      Hope this helps 🙂
      Mark

